Threads
Members
Latest member
Geoff mountfield
Recent bookmarks

John Galt

Shooter
Medium Format
Hello, been offline for quite awhile due to a few big commitments . . . I have been doing Analog f Photography for a couple years now using a Hasselblad V system, doing my own film development and scanning. Got my DR all set up and ready to go. . . Besseler 23C XL, 80mm El Nikkor and an old gralab timer. Plus all the other stuff.

In a box of stuff I acquired was an old Kodak safelight. It came with a NIB Wratten OC filter. I do mostly Tmax, Tri X and Ilford Pan F+. Is this the correct filter for B&W print processing?

Vintage%20Kodak%20Safelight_zpsmfj554md.jpg

Thanks in advance!

Shooter
4x5 Format
The OC filter is safe for many printing papers, but not for several of the VC papers. Fomabrom Variant, for example, will fog pretty quickly under an OC filter. I had to go to red (1 and 1A) filters when using this paper. Of course it all depends on time and intensity, so do do the safelight test linked to above. I like to get my papers safe out to seven minutes or more, but I can deal with five if I have to. Just to be on the safe side (pun intended), I keep the paper emulsion side down in the developer tray for about half the developing time, flipping it right-side-up every 30 seconds or so to check on the image.

I believe that Ilford states that a Kodak OC filter is safe with Multigrade papers.

Best,

Doremus

MattKing

Shooter
Multi Format
The OC filter should be okay for Ilford Multigrade paper.
If it is still in good shape - they can lose effectiveness.

Nodda Duma

Subscriber
Shooter
Multi Format
I used that same setup in my darkroom for the past several years. It is good for Ilford Multigrade.

Arklatexian

Shooter
Multi Format