Ilford 4x5 film and Tmax developer - ok?

3 Columns

H
3 Columns

I am Gr...

A
I am Gr...

Eureka Skyline

H
Eureka Skyline

Roof line

A
Roof line

Rehearsal

A
Rehearsal

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
Nikoman44
Recent bookmarks

Digidurst

Subscriber
Shooter
Multi Format
Hi all! I'm new to APUG and this is my first post (well, after my intro post in the 'introduce yourself' forum). What a great resource this site is! I searched but couldn't find an answer to my dilemma.

Anyway, I'm getting ready to develop Ilford 4x5 film (FP4 if memory serves). Since I'm new to LF and it's been years since developing 35mm, I figured I'd stick with what I was familiar with and use liquid Tmax (not RS). I have also used D76 with success but again that was years ago.

Any reason not to use this combo? I'd had to ruin my first film run!

p.s. What the devil is 'pyrocat'?

papagene

Membership Council
Council
Shooter
Multi Format
Ellen,
Yes youcan use Ilford films and TMax developer. I have done it in the past with good results. Any ruined film will be in th ecatagory of user error.
Pyrocat is a staining developer. I'll let those who use it describe it for you. I use PMK Pyro with Ilford films and really like the combination.
Good luck and welcome aboard.

gene

OP
OP
Digidurst

Digidurst

Subscriber
Shooter
Multi Format
papagene said:
Ellen,
Pyrocat is a staining developer. I'll let those who use it describe it for you. I use PMK Pyro with Ilford films and really like the combination.
Good luck and welcome aboard.

gene

A staining developer?

Also, is it ok to mix brands when it comes to stop bath and/or fixer?

Methinks I could use a book reference so that I can learn and so I don't bother you poor folks to death :surprised:

jd callow

Shooter
Multi Format
Digidurst said:
Methinks I could use a book reference so that I can learn and so I don't bother you poor folks to death :surprised: