I think I've been doing it wrong...for 40 years

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by gary in nj, Jan 3, 2018.

1. gary in nj

gary in nj Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I've been using Dektol for paper development for 40 years. I was taught to, and have always used it, straight without dilution. A typical exposure for me is 4-6 seconds at f8. If I dilute at the recommended 1:2, do I adjust my exposure time or do I allow for a longer development time (which is usually around 30-60 seconds). From what I've been reading, the 1:2 working ratio will allow for deeper blacks and contrast. Is this correct?

2. faberryman

faberryman Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Old habits die hard. If you like the results you have been getting for 40 years, why change now?

3. E. von Hoegh

E. von Hoegh Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I use Dektol 1:2 and develop "to completion", usually 3 minutes. this gives me solid blacks on any paper I've used. It also shows up any fog on old paper or poorly stored paper.

4. BradS

BradS Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    +1

5. OP
    OP
    gary in nj

gary in nj Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I don't think I necessarily get deep blacks, more like dark grays. There is opportunity for improvement. If simply going 1:2 with a longer development period yields better blacks I'll be happy that I've made the change.

6. E. von Hoegh

E. von Hoegh Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hah! I was just about to edit, my exposure times are often 30 to 60 seconds to allow for burning & dodging, especially with 8x10 contacts. It's possible with a lower wattage bulb in the enlarger, and I like to use my enlarging lenses at 5.6 as diffraction comes in at f:8 on most of mine, which are a rather motley assortment leaning heavily to uncoated Wollensaks. Yes they do a remarkable job being Aviar types, very very sharp.

7. E. von Hoegh

E. von Hoegh Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format