Members
Latest member
philipandre
Recent bookmarks

Sonny Poszich

Shooter
Medium Format
Greetings Everyone
I’m relatively new to medium format photography, and could use some help with a mirror release issue I’m having on my Hasselblad 500/C, which by the way is confined to only one of my four Carl Zeiss lenses. A brief background of my gear, my 500/C is a 1966 model, it’s in excellent to near mint condition and functions as it should, i.e. mirror operates properly and the rear auxiliary shutter opens & closes as it should & when it should. My lense inventory includes a Distagon 1:4 f=50mm T*, Planar 1:2.8 f=80mm T*, Sonnar 1:4 f=150mm and a Sonnar 1:5.6 f=250mm. The 50mm, 80mm & 150mm lenses function flawlessly when mounted directly to my camera body, it’s only the 250mm lens that has the problem. When I mount my 250mm directly to my camera body, it malfunctions, i.e. won’t fire the lenses shutter when the shutter release button in depressed. When I depress the cameras shutter, there’s a internal kicks as if the mirror release mechanism is being activated. The problem is the mirror stays in it’s down position and doesn’t move. Now if I jiggle the lens clockwise, the mirror retracts, and at that point I can depress the shutter button a second time and the rear auxiliary shutter opens, the lens shutter fires and upon releasing the camera shutter button, the rear auxiliary shutter closes. Oddly enough, with this lens mounted directly to the camera body, even the mirror quick release button on the camera body when depressed has the same effect, i.e. the mirror is stuck in the down position until I jiggle the lens. The problem is the mirror release delay causes me to loose my composition for that shot. The odd thing is this, that same 250mm lens plugged onto my 21-macro tube, my 55-macro tube and my 2x-teleconverter works perfectly. The only other symptom is this, the 250mm lens when mounted directly to the camera body, has the slightest amount of play in it, microns i