hand held lightmeter vs gray card

Discussion in 'Exposure Discussion' started by lft, Feb 23, 2009.

1. lft

lft Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    shooting black and white film, and being a student, I often find myself trying to save money while being as efficient as possible. As I continue to improve and become more dedicated, I find myself wondering if I need a gray card or handheld meter. I am using an om-4 with a pretty trusty light meter, so would it be fine to get a regular old delta 4x5 gray card, or is that not reliable enough?

2. Sjixxxy

Sjixxxy Subscriber

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    If I'm not taking the time to set up a tri-pod and spot meter the scene, I end up just using the world as my grey card. Sidewalk is zone V, palm of my hand is Zone VI, Snowbanks are zone VII. Been working well so far, though I do tend to have loose tolerances for exposure.

3. archphoto

archphoto Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Having a grey card is a good idea, esp in situations where you can not be shure of the reading of your OM meter: photograping a dark colored person, photo's at the beach. If you compare the both readings it can be a good learning moment, so next time you will know how to interpretet your OM meter.

A lightmeter is handy (and sometimes a must) when you have a camera without a lightmeter.

I have been using my lightmeters, a ProfiSix and a Minolta Flashmeter IV for many, many, years.

Peter

4. Chan Tran

Chan Tran Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    If you need an incident reading then the gray card and the OM-4 in spot mode is not great but fine. For reflected reading then the OM-4 has quite a good meter.

5. CPorter

CPorter Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I use a Pentax spot meter, but I never go anywhere without my gray card either----it's just a permanent component with my other gear.

6. Lee L

Lee L Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format