? fooling ISO using exposure comp.

3 Columns

H
3 Columns

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
I am Gr...

A
I am Gr...

  • 1
  • 0
  • 89
Eureka Skyline

H
Eureka Skyline

  • 0
  • 0
  • 73
Roof line

A
Roof line

  • 1
  • 0
  • 115
Rehearsal

A
Rehearsal

  • 0
  • 0
  • 190

Forum statistics

Threads
179,370
Messages
2,468,859
Members
94,800
Latest member
Nikoman44
Recent bookmarks
1

Denis R

Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
284
Location
50156 & 5133
Shooter
35mm
Nikon F75 defaults to ISO 100 when non-dx film is loaded
Ilford delta 400 is bulk loaded

Is it -2 that I need to set the exposure comp?
 

Michael W

Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,593
Location
Sydney
Shooter
Multi Format
-2 is correct to rate it at 400 ISO.
I'm not familar with the F75 but a lot of those modern film cameras also have an ISO over-ride function, in which case you could manually set the meter to 400.
 

Chris Nielsen

Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
491
Location
Waikato, New
Shooter
Multi Format
That was the one reason I had to buy an F80 instead - no manual ISO setting capability. I find that extremely annoying and they're probably a great machine otherwise. Well, except for the dopy metering selection system.
 

Michael W

Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,593
Location
Sydney
Shooter
Multi Format
You certainly used to be able to buy cassettes for bulk loading film that had dx codes of 100 or 400. I think there were also dx ISO labels available. Might be worth looking into if you'll be using a lot of bulk loaded film with this camera.
 

lxdude

Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
6,945
Location
Redlands, So
Shooter
Multi Format
I think there were also dx ISO labels available. Might be worth looking into if you'll be using a lot of bulk loaded film with this camera.

Go to porters.com and search for "DX label". They have several different speeds.
 

Bob Eskridge

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2005
Messages
369
Location
Southern USA
Shooter
Multi Format
I have run into the same problem using some Superpan film in my N5005 which only uses DX coding also. The Rollei Superpan 35mm cartridge has no DX coding and I want to use it at its true speed of 160 ASA

I had the DX coding in my notes from years ago but it can also be found by searching the internet.
Or try http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DX_encoding

The next step is to scrap the paint off of my cartridges where needed and (in case the paint on the cartridge is an adequate electrical insulator) I will put little squares of Scotch tape where it needs to be insulated.

I haven't tried the above yet but will shortly and report my results.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Sirius Glass

Subscriber
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
41,476
Location
Southern California
Shooter
Multi Format
Go to porters.com and search for "DX label". They have several different speeds.

The N75 has to have the ISO reset every time the camera is turned on, if I remember correctly. Follow the suggestions for DX labels.

Steve
 
Photrio.com contains affiliate links to products. We may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.
To read our full affiliate disclosure statement please click Here.

PHOTRIO PARTNERS EQUALLY FUNDING OUR COMMUNITY:



Ilford ADOX Freestyle Photographic Stearman Press Weldon Color Lab
Top Bottom