first attempt gone wrong

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by delusionalwithlove, Jul 11, 2018.

1. delusionalwithlove

delusionalwithlove Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hi so i found a minolta x-370 at a thrift store that looked in beautiful condition so i decided to give film a try. I had fujifilm ISO 200 already in hand so i loaded it up, set my ISO and with the auto shutter speed feature I gave it a go. After waiting a week for the 24 photos to be developed I recieved 3 photos that looked like this. Im very new to film and I was hoping this is just a simple mistake on my part. Has this happened to anyone before? What did i do wrong? Is the camera broken? Screen Shot 2018-07-11 at 10.58.21 AM.png

2. railwayman3

railwayman3 Member
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    35mm
    It looks as though the film is unexposed, but there could be many reasons for this.

Are all the 24 negatives completely blank (i.e. just clear film), with just the edge numbers and markings on the film showing ? Or were the other negs and prints good ?

If the whole film is blank, that could be a film loading fault or a camera (shutter?) problem. If just three photos are blank, could be missed shots and nothing serious.

I'm not familiar with this camera, so an obvious question...does it take a battery or is the battery flat ?

3. Helios 1984

Helios 1984 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    If your open the back, does the curtain opens when your fire the shutter?

4. Chan Tran

Chan Tran Member
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    35mm
    Need to see the negatives and see if they are blank. Most likely the camera isn't loaded correctly and the film wasn't advanced. Bad battery the camera won't shoot at least not at the A setting.

5. pbromaghin

pbromaghin Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    What about the other 21?

6. markjwyatt

markjwyatt Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format