Extreme grain

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by paolo.meschi, Mar 1, 2009.

1. paolo.meschi

paolo.meschi Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hello,

I'm trying to get extremely grainy negative like Daido Moriyama's (and other Provoke members like Takuma Nakahira) work from 60s-70s.

I use Tri-X film.

I've tried with Rodinal, but I don't get that extreme grain...
    So, I'm trying with Dektol. I've experimented a bit with Dektol 1+8 at various temperatures (from 20 °C to 40 °C)
    However I'm an absolute beginner :D to b/w development and I'd like to get some advice to get even more grain...

What are the effects of Dektol dilution on grain? Should I overdevelop even more?

I've got a bunch of expired Tri-X Pan from the 80s, could this help to get even more grain?

Some images to explain what I would like to get (especially the first one):

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

http://blogimg.goo.ne.jp/user_image/04/4f/38f32255b4c82d31cc41ef8e961a052b.jpg

Thank you! :smile:

P.S.: Another question... How could I get something like this: http://www.schaden.com/covers/043/04343.jpg ?

2. archphoto

archphoto Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Expired Tri-X after 30 years ? Expose +3 stops for the speed loss and expect some fogging.

Try to shoot on 35mm with Tr-X or any higher film speed and use just the half-frame > the more you enlarge the more grain.

Peter

3. David William White

David William White Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Major enlargement is an answer.

4. PhotoJim

PhotoJim Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Reticulation can look like grain.

The secret here is major temperature differences.

You could develop the film normally... then insert it into an ice water bath after fixing.

Afterward, wash it in very warm water. (Too warm can cause emulsion damage, but I would think you'd be ok up to 30 C or so.)

Some experimentation will be required.

5. Stephen Frizza

Stephen Frizza Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format