E6 Home Processing

Discussion in 'Color: Film, Paper, and Chemistry' started by edhead2008, Mar 4, 2009.

1. edhead2008

edhead2008 Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I'd be grateful for some advice re. processing E6 at home. Is it much more difficult than processing traditional B/W film? I've been processing HP5 at home for about the last 4 months and am thinking of investing in the chemicals for transparencies but not sure what's involved.

Also, do I need any additional kit, ie tanks, etc.? I have all that's needed to process B/W ok, and am hoping that that's sufficient.

Cheers,

Eamonn

2. tim_walls

tim_walls Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    I wrote a little guide some time ago - it may be useful to you: http://www.yarki.net/E6/

The assembled wisdom here is far greater though, so use only as a starting point.

Also note that these days I actually prefer to use the Kodak 6-bath kit rather than the Tetenal kit I describe there, but that's just personal preference really.

3. DarkroomExperimente

DarkroomExperimente Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    why do you like the Kodak kit better?

are the results different?...do you have more control with the Kodak kit?

4. tiberiustibz

tiberiustibz Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I like the kodak kit. It's a lot of baths though. I haven't used anything else but I know the kodak kit is reliable and cheap. compared to processing with some labs I save 90-95% on processing costs (but the process takes a LONG TIME!) If I made a sink line processor (anyone know where to get accurate fish tank heaters that heat to 100 degrees F?) it would go faster but the tempering takes a while.

The method is to heat the chemistry in a steel pitcher in a water bath and then process with steel in a water bath to keep the temperature right. I usually use a temperature 1-2 degrees higher than nominal to compensate for loss of heat when I agitate. Beyond that it's the same as B+W.

5. tim_walls

tim_walls Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm