Dry to Dry? What is this?

Discussion in 'Color: Film, Paper, and Chemistry' started by JohnRichard, Mar 10, 2009.

1. JohnRichard

JohnRichard Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Pardon me for not being able to find anything with the search. And, please point me to a current thread if there is such.

I have recently talked the Photo lab at the local university (yes they still have a HUGE analogue only photo lab) to let me use their equipment. As I am a grad student there, and spend a majority of my time there... I thought why not!

Anyhow, I asked if they had a color lab, and the lady said yes, but only in the fall semester as they only set the processor up for the color class she teaches.

I asked about this "processor" and she said it was a Dry to Dry processor.
    Now, way back in high school, I developed thousands of color 8x10s in a jobo drum machine. I did it wet, just like Black and White in trays, but insted it was totally enclosed in a drum/no safe light. I got REAL good at working in total darkness.

I remember in my undergrad, the photo lab had a "processor" but it was broken so again... I did everything by hand, and the other students just stayed away from color because they didn't want to work in total darkness.

Can someone point me in the right direction to learn about this mysterious Dry-to-Dry "processor"?! And, could someone explain to me why the nice lady looked at me as if I had 2 heads when I said I had developed color prints, one at a time, in a rotating motorized jobo?

Don't people do that anymore?

2. jnantz

jnantz Advertiser Advertiser
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    extamatic processors are able to process prints ( RC ) dry to dry.
    i probably got the spelling wrong, but i have been told they are
    similar to xray processors.
    i worked for someone for a very short time who had one ..
    they have rubber transport rollers that get gummed up with stuff
    and need to be cleaned often ..

good luck!
    john