De Vere 504 - mixing box

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by robrover, Dec 14, 2017.

1. robrover

robrover Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I am just starting out in black and white darkroom printing. I bought a De Vere 504 with a Dichromat colour head. It came with reasonable condition 150mm and 80mm lenses but only one mixing box for 4x5.
    I have experimented with printing both 4x5 and medium format (6x6) using the 4x5 mixing box for both. I am finding it harder to focus the 6x6 and am getting long exposure times (sometimes 2 min with +two stops open) when printing at 16x16 inches.
    How essential is having a medium format mixing box for medium format printing? I'm guessing that the image would be brighter because the light will be more concentrated into a smaller output area giving easier focus and shorter exposures? In other words is it worth the effort to find a medium format mixing box? (This enlarger is a stop-gap until next year when I will have a proper darkroom built in my back garden. I with more space available I will be looking for a 504 with an Ilford black and white head and 500CPM timer.)

2. FerruB

FerruB Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi,
    I have as well a DeVere504 with only a 4x5 mixing box. I am printing 35mm and 6x7 but so far I didn't have any issue with long exposure printing up to 20-24". Maybe you can just add a white screen to partially reduce the mixing box aperture down to 6x6 or 35mm, in order to reflect back into the box the light.
    Cheers,
    Ferru

Last edited: Dec 14, 2017
  3. chiller

chiller Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I print every format I have with just the 5x4 mixing box as well. I believe there is a slight loss of illumination using the 5x4 box for 35 mm but it has always seemed more than adequate. Illumination is still extremely even corner to corner. Stunning enlarger.

4. OP
    OP
    robrover

robrover Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format