Darkroom Ventilation

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by Mr Worry, Feb 28, 2009.

1. Mr Worry

Mr Worry Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    My partner and I are going to be setting up a small B&W darkroom in a 9x7 (feet) shed and were wondering about ventailtion, would a open window suffice as we are just using std ilford chemicals (dev stop fix) not any toners etc ?

2. jordanstarr

jordanstarr Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'd think an open window would be fine, but what about light coming through?

I used to have a darkroom in a laundry room in the back of the house when I was in Vancouver and it had no ventilation. However, I hung the photos to dry outside of the darkroom and would frequently leave to proof my prints in strong light. I think the entering/exiting was fine for ventilation, but I'm no doctor. 10 years from now I might have cancer as a result.

3. Konical

Konical Subscriber

Good Morning, Mr Worry,

For many years, my "darkroom" was a kitchen without any special ventilation provisions. Even with long sessions, I never had any particular problems with the arrangement, although there was the acetic-acid smell of the stop bath present. It is, however, helpful to keep thin plastic (the dry cleaner type stuff) over large trays of chemicals when they are not actually being used. That goes particularly for toners. A lot may also depend on your own individual sensitivities. My current darkroom is in a much larger basement area in which I experience no problems; if I routinely did day-long printing sessions, I would probably consider installing an exhaust fan.

Konical

4. jp80874

jp80874 Member

Shooter:
    ULarge Format