Blair Hawkeye Detective Camera

Discussion in 'Plate Cameras and Accessories' started by M9reno, Nov 15, 2015.

1. M9reno

M9reno Member

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    Yesterday while I was waiting for the start of an internet auction, in which I had my eye on Leica items, the screen suddenly changed, I instantly clicked a button, and accidentally made myself the highest (and only) bidder of the first lot: an 1890's Blair Hawkeye Detective camera! The hammer went down for US $400.

https://tamarkin.infinitebidding.com/?method=getLotInfo&lotref=B2443E98A8&seq=1

Do members have advice or views on my unforeseen win? I have no experience outside of 35mm film. Is this camera any good (either in interest or usability), or will it have to sit on my desk as a small monument to my stupidity?

2. I think that you will enjoy using it and also displaying it in your home. By the way there is a big world outside of 35mm and if you stick around here you will be drawn into MF photography and may be 4"x5" photography.

3. jnanian

jnanian Advertiser Advertiser

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Groups:
    by all means use it and enjoy it !

http://www.vintagephoto.tv/blairhawkeye.shtml
    http://www.antiquewoodcameras.com/hawkeye.html

what a great camera you bought ...
    a focusing box camera with a beautiful brass lens...
    find a few FILM holders, they will most likely
    fit without a problem .. i use a plate camera with film often
    with modern film holders and no focus problems at all ...

good luck !
    john

4. summicron1

summicron1 Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    wow, and in "very goog" condition --

but seriously, sure, shoot that sucker. It's a detective camera, so nobody will know that you are taking their pictures, too.

No, seriously, they won't. Not these days, when everyone thinks a camera is a cell phone or, at worst, something vaguely similar to a 35mm slr.

But a box? Especially a goog one? Nah!
    Funny how that works, eh?

5. OP
    OP
    M9reno