Members
Latest member
crockodile
Recent bookmarks

lazyblow

Format
Medium Format
Hi,

I am new to this forum but I have been practicing for 20 years without a lot of problems in ZebraLab in Geneva.

I have develop a medium format FOMA 100 with Ifosol 3 at 20 degrees. I pre-washed, develop, stop, fixed (without temp control) and wash.

The results are awful as I have this huge grains that make the images useless. You'll notice that it's only visible in dark areas.

If anyone know what causes this, I am very curious. Thanks a lot!

Best,
Jean Luc Andrianasolo
Capture d’écran 2024-01-30 à 12.04.26.png
Capture d’écran 2024-01-30 à 12.06.15.png

M-88

Format
Multi Format
If this is a medium format film, then this mottling (it's irregular and uneven, so it's not a grain) most likely caused by the backing paper - Foma is not exactly good at quality control.

Welcome to Photrio. Soon more proficient individuals are going to chime in.

miha

Format
Multi Format
What M-88 said (apart from the quality control bit). How was the film stored?

Format
Traditional
Foma is not exactly good at quality control.

It's a bit unfair to pin backing paper mottling on Foma alone. There aren't any shortages examples of similar defects in Ilford and Kodak stocks. If Fuji still made film they'd likely be affected as well.

Last edited by a moderator:

koraks

Format
Multi Format
Welcome to Photrio, @lazyblow!

I agree with the others that this looks like backing paper mottling. The following factors can influence this:
  • Unpacking the film while it is much colder than the ambient temperature (causing condensation), for instance right after taking it from a fridge/freezer, or film that has been brought from outside and immediately opened.
  • Long-term storage of the film under adverse conditions, e.g. high temperatures.
  • Freezing film if it has been packaged under conditions of abnormally high humidity, causing crystallization