AE-1 tungsten wire

Kodachrome Skies

A
Kodachrome Skies

  • 1
  • 0
  • 101
The Dive

A
The Dive

  • 4
  • 2
  • 134
Edinburgh nights

Edinburgh nights

  • 1
  • 6
  • 187

Recent Classifieds

Forum statistics

Threads
178,732
Messages
2,458,854
Members
94,629
Latest member
swededreams
Recent bookmarks
0

Lismoreian

Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
33
Location
Ireland
Shooter
Medium Format
i have a ae1 canon with a disconnected/broken tungsten wire and no repair manual. aside from purchasing a manual, is there another option? Thank you.
 

AgX

Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
29,291
Location
Germany
Shooter
Multi Format
I don't know of any tungsten wire on my AE-1.
 
OP
OP

Lismoreian

Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
33
Location
Ireland
Shooter
Medium Format
It is the shutter pull-a thin "cable" that runs across the back of the camera over about five little pullies.
 
OP
OP

Lismoreian

Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
33
Location
Ireland
Shooter
Medium Format
Thank you Laurent, I have been to this site but had no luck locating a repair manual diagram. I am trying to find information without a cost. It is even a difficult repair manual to find to download at a cost.
 
OP
OP

Lismoreian

Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
33
Location
Ireland
Shooter
Medium Format
Thank you Ben. that is exactly what i was looking for. not looking forward to the surgery though...
 

AgX

Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
29,291
Location
Germany
Shooter
Multi Format
Lismoreian,

I beg your pardon. I just now found out that there are indeed tungsten-cables.
I found such in the New F1 where it seemingly actuates the viewfinder speed scale. I still haven't found such in the AE-1P. Actually I can't think of a funtion there. But I'll find out...
 

Laurent

Subscriber
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Messages
1,521
Location
France
Shooter
Multi Format
The AE1-P uses LEDs, so it does not need cables to actuate the speed display... on an AE1 it would make sense
 

AgX

Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
29,291
Location
Germany
Shooter
Multi Format
With actuating I meant a mechanical action, as in moving a display in and out. On the AE-1 there is the pointer of the meter, for the rest there is no further mechanical action.
 

Laurent

Subscriber
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Messages
1,521
Location
France
Shooter
Multi Format
Sorry, I thought about the meter needle... I'm tired I guess ! Not sure there's less to do, but there isn't more than on an AE1-p!
 

John Koehrer

Subscriber
Joined
Apr 3, 2004
Messages
8,219
Location
Aurora, Il
Shooter
Multi Format
The tungsten wire connects the ISO resistor to the shutter speed dial which is also a variable resistor.
The setting of the ISO dial changes the position of a cam that engages the shutter speed dial start point.
 
Photrio.com contains affiliate links to products. We may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.
To read our full affiliate disclosure statement please click Here.

PHOTRIO PARTNERS EQUALLY FUNDING OUR COMMUNITY:



Ilford ADOX Freestyle Photographic Stearman Press Weldon Color Lab
Top Bottom