Threads
Members
Latest member
philipandre
Recent bookmarks

Photoguy365

Shooter
Multi Format
Hi all! I'm getting back into photography after a 15 year hiatus. I studied photography in college in the early 90s, and was a newspaper photographer from roughly 1994 through 2001. 35mm was king, and the F5 was the camera of my dreams. When I left my last photo job, I put the camera down. I'm not sure why, as I had always loved the process of photography.

Anyway... it's 2018. I currently own an F4s, F5 and a D90. Have several (what I consider) nice lenses. When I purchased the D90, it was more than enough camera to take pictures of the kids and family vacations. My 12 year-old daughter has recently expressed an interest in photography- which in tern has sparked a renewed love for it within me. While I have what I consider two of the best 35mm cameras around, it is beyond difficult to find a processing facility these days.

So I am now looking to add a second Nikon DSLR to my list. I plan to purchase something in the used market, and would like an FX model. I was thinking about perhaps the D800- as this would allow me to take advantage of the lenses I already own. I know it's not the "latest greatest," but it would allow me to up the megapixel count without breaking the bank. I would love to hear your thoughts on this camera, and any other suggestions that you might have. Thank you in advance!

Eric Rose

Subscriber
Shooter
Multi Format
Don't discount the D700. I used it professionally for years. Once I retired I sold it and regret it. The D800 or 810 are great cameras but still go for a premium used. On another note don't get into the mega pixel mindset, an FX camera with at least 12M is all you really need.