Threads
Members
Latest member
swededreams
Recent bookmarks

EricO

Shooter
Multi Format
I'm fairly new at medium format (2 years). I was doing a photo shoot recently and made two rookie mistakes. I took the seal off of a roll of 120 film but realized that the back that I was going to load already had film in it. I accidently exposed the film in the back when I opened it. I figured that may have ruined a frame or two so I continued shooting. Meanwhile, the roll that had the broken seal unravelled a little. Is that roll ruined? I was thinking about running it through by taking some snap shots. What do you think?

mrmekon

Shooter
35mm
I think it most likely depends on the circumstances. I'd still run it, but not with anything I care about. I had a roll that unwound a bit, and every frame except 2 were fogged.

As for the open back, the few times I've done that the damage was much less. 3-4 frames fogged.

JBrunner

Shooter
Medium Format
All you can do is develop the roll that was in the back and find out what you have. The unravelled roll can be shot, just don't use it for anything important or unrepeatable. Me? I'd just throw it away. My time is worth more than a few bucks.

railwayman3

Shooter
35mm
If you're processing your own film and the only cost is a few cents for the chemicals, I'd shoot the second film on snapshots, and develop both films. Sometimes you'll get away with these mistakes, but on the other hand, daylight and especially direct sun can be very penetrating when it comes to fogging film.