Photographer Nan Goldin to receive 2012 MacDowell Medal

Discussion in 'New England' started by bdial, Aug 11, 2012.

  1. bdial

    bdial Subscriber

    Jan 2, 2005
    North East U.S.
    Multi Format
    Sunday August 12, 2012

    Photographer Nan Goldin to Receive 2012 Edward MacDowell Medal - Goldin will be on hand to accept the award at the Colony in Peterborough, New Hampshire, on Sunday, August 12th.

    Since 1960, The MacDowell Medal has been awarded annually to an individual artist who has made an outstanding contribution to his/her field. The award is rotated among the artistic disciplines practiced at MacDowell. Goldin joins an impressive list of past Medal recipients, including Robert Frank, Edward Hopper, Georgia O'Keeffe, Leonard Bernstein, Merce Cunningham, Robert Frost, and Edward Albee. Author Michael Chabon - a MacDowell Fellow and chairman of the Colony's board of directors - and writer and critic Luc Sante will speak at the public ceremony honoring Goldin.

    More info;